The University of Melbourne

Established in 1853, the University of Melbourne is a public-spirited institution that makes distinctive contributions to society in research, learning and teaching and engagement. It’s consistently ranked among the leading universities in the world, with international rankings of world universities placing it as number 1 in Australia and number 34 in the world (Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2013-2014).  With its 6,500 staff, the university delivers 11 undergraduate and 270 graduate courses to 47,000 students in 22 specific faculties and graduate school as well as overseas $850m worth of research across these disciplines. The University has its main campus in Parkville with research, learning and teaching and engagement activities also taking place in its other campuses located in Burnley, Creswick, Dookie, Shepparton, Southbank and Werribee. 

The School of Ecosystem and Forest Sciences is a multidisciplinary School operating across the three campuses of Creswick, Burnley and Parkville and has a significant involvement in land management learning and teaching as well as research. The School holds custodial ownership of the Master of Forest Ecosystem Science and the Master of Urban Horticulture as well as a variety of associated Graduate Certificates and Diplomas and also contributes to a number of undergraduate and postgraduate coursework programs, commercial teaching programs as well as other national and international teaching initiatives. In addition the School features strong industry and government partnerships and uses physical, biological and social sciences to study ecosystem processes and issues relating to landscape and forest management stretching from pristine wilderness to urban ecosystems and from natural to designed landscapes.